Call to Schedule a Free Case Review!
Se Habla EspaƱol

301.251.8686

Serving Montgomery, Prince George's,
Frederick, and Howard Counties in MD

The Passionate Pursuit of Justice, One Case at a Time

Understanding DUI Laws in the State of Maryland

As criminal lawyers know all too well, one DUI conviction is all it takes to send a client’s life into a tailspin. If you have been arrested for a DUI or DWI near Rockville, your first step should always be to contact a criminal defense lawyer. A drunk driving charge is a serious offense in Maryland, but an experienced criminal attorney can make sure that your legal rights are protected. Read on to learn the answers to common questions about the state’s DUI laws—and find out how you or a loved one can defend yourself against a DUI or DWI charge.

What Are the Penalties for a DUI? Maryland DUI Laws
If a driver is stopped and found to have a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher, he will be charged with a DUI. A DUI is a serious criminal charge that not only remains on your record but can also lead to license revocation, fines of up to $1,000, 12 points on your license, and even up to one year in jail. For a second DUI conviction, if subsecquent offender papers are properly served, the fine is up to $2000, 12 points on your license, and two years in jail.

How Is a DWI Different from a DUI?
In most cases, DWIs are issued to drivers who have a slightly lower BAC, .04% to .07%, but fail field sobriety tests. That means the police officer’s judgment is a major factor—and many criminal attorneys successfully object to these subjective tests. A criminal DUI conviction carries stiff penalties, including up to $500 in fines, up to 60 days imprisonment, and 8 points on your license.

Categories: DUI, DWI, Drunk Driving Laws
  • NADC_logo
  • Rebecca_A_Nitkin
  • National Women Trial Lawyers The Law Offices of Rebecca A. Nitkin, P.C